sierraseal.gif (7047 bytes)     starfish.JPG (28701 bytes)    sierranatlogo.jpg (7661 bytes)
                            P.O. Box 3512, Corpus Christi, TX 78404
                           Coastalbend current news and home page see below

                                      JOIN         ARCHIVES

clrgcanyon.JPG (9764 bytes)  aerialcc.JPG (23975 bytes)  ridley.JPG (27477 bytes) Tr014.jpg (48334 bytes)
                                     "When we try to pick out anything
                                                by itself, we find it
                                                hitched to everything else
                                                in the universe."

                               -John Muir

                            COASTAL BEND GROUP     
South Texas Uranium News - Update 8/27/10

                            Coastal Bend Sierra Club's Comments on TCEQ's Draft Rules for Uranium Mining in Texas

                             Ridley Turtle update - 9/01/10


COASTAL BEND SIERRA CLUB January 2011 Meeting Minutes

The Coastal Bend Sierra Club (CBSC) met on Tuesday, January 18 from 11:30 am until 1:15 pm at the Central Library, 805 Comanche Street. Chairperson Pat Suter, after welcoming members and reminding them that meeting minutes are posted on the CBSC website, made the treasurer’s report for Treasurer Teresa Carrillo, who was unable to attend the meeting. After current bills are paid, the checking account balance will be $1377.14 and the total of the three CDs is $7680.42.

Hal Suter, President of the Lone Star Sierra Club and CBSC’s representative on the Lone Star Executive Committee (ExCom), reported that the next ExCom meeting will be in Austin on January 29, and that he has issued a call for agenda items. Hal also reminded the group that the deadline for nominations for 2010 Lone Star Chapter Awards is February 4, 2011. ExCom member Teresa Carrillo is the Awards Committee Chair. Those wishing to make nominations may e-mail her at Members wanting a description of the various chapter awards or a nomination form may access these materials at Links to each document will be found at the conclusion of "call for nominations" on that page.

Joyce Jarmon, Edith Cosgrove, Brian Burke, and Pat Suter attended this month’s Industrial Long-Term Health Committee meeting and reported that benzene emissions were down dramatically in December 2010. These four members led a discussion in today’s CBSC meeting on air monitoring and emission regulations in the local refinery area. Also, Brian reported that he has attended recent meetings on the Hillcrest area study, and that the next meeting will be held at the Orveal Williams Senior Citizens’ Center on January 27.

Mina Williams and Venice Scheurich reported that representatives of Goliad County, Goliad County Groundwater Conservation District, and the Affected Citizens in the recent contested case hearing opposing the application of Uranium Energy Corporation (UEC) have sent resolutions to the Environmental Protection Agency requesting that EPA deny UEC’s application for an exempt aquifer in Goliad County. Although the TCEQ commissioners approved UEC’s permit application for in situ uranium mining in Goliad County in spite of the fact that the Administrative Law Judge recommended against it, mining cannot begin unless EPA grants UEC’s request for an exempt aquifer within the permit area.

Pat and Brian reported that some members of the Clean Economy Coalition (CEC) will attend the TCEQ meeting in Austin on January 26. Item 1 on the agenda is the Proposal for Decision on the application of Las Brisas Energy Center for an air quality permit. The meeting at TCEQ headquarters begins at 9:30 am. Those wishing to watch the webcast of the proceedings may access the TCEQ website for the particulars.

Lois Huff, Membership Chair, brought lists of both active and inactive members of CBSC. She and Pat circulated the lists and requested those of us present at today’s meeting contact people whose memberships have lapsed and ask them to renew in an effort to maintain and increase our CBSC membership.

Submitted by Venice Scheurich on January 18, 2011





Pat Suter 852-7938 Chairman    
Mina Williams 882-1179 V.Chairman
Teresa Carrillo 361-672-4703 Treasurer
Venice Scheurich  241-4289 Secretary
Hal Suter 852-7938 Lone Star Chapter   Represent.
Shelley Fox
Lois Huff
Teresa Carillo
Venice Scheurich  &
Mina Williams


Uranium Mining
Bill Alling 289-9090 Air Quality
Hal Suter and Mina
852-7938 Political
Hal Suter 852-7938 Walks
Hal Suter
Teresa Carrillo
852-7938 Representataive to Lone Star Chapter
Joyce Jarmon   Refinery Emissions &
Community Advisory Council/Long Term Health Care
Edie Cosgrove   Refinery Emissions
Cheryl McGrath   Webmaster

  Cheryl McGrath      Webmaster



  • Texas State Legislature Online

    • City of Corpus Christi

      Mayor Joe Adame                             District 1 Kevin Kieschnick email:                                

      Brent Chesney at Large                     Nelda Martinez at Large             

      Mark Scott at Large
      Work: (361) 985-2004
      Home: (361) 814-9220
      Business Address: 5026 Holly Road, 78411

             District 2  John Marez                               District 3 Pricilla Leal   

             District 4 Chris Alder
            District 5 Larry Elizondo                                   


    Hon. Solomon Ortiz                         
    House Office Bldg.                            
    Washington, D.C. 20515-4315

    State Rep.________
    P.O. Box 2910
    Austin, TX 78768-2910

    Solomon Ortiz, Jr., District 33
    (361) 857-0838 or (361) 225-3060
    P.O. Box 270909
    Corpus Christi, Texas 78427

      Abel Herrero
      Juan Garcia

    Hon. Kay Bailey Hutchison            Sen. John Cornyn
     Senate Office Building                   Senate Office Building
     Washington, D.C. 20510                Washington, D.C. 20510

           Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa        Commissioner Jerry Patterson
            P.O. Box 12068                                 GLO 1700 Congress Ave.
            Austin, TX 78711-2068                      Austin, Texas 78701

             Commissioner (Chairman)                                          
             P.O. Box 13087                      
             Austin, TX 78711        


            President Barak Obama
            The White House
            Washington, DC

                                  falconpark.jpg (11443 bytes)

    Coastal Bend Sierra Club E-Mail

This page was last updated on 02/16/11.

 Protect America's Environment.
For our families, for our future.

A Philosophy of Stewardship               
The Sierra Club's statement of Purpose is:  To explore, enjoy and protect the wild places of the earth; to practice and promote the responsible use of the earth's ecosystems and resources; to educate and enlist humanity to protect and restore the quality of the natural and human environment; and to use all lawful means to carry out these objectives.

As a grassroots-based organization, we rely on individuals for our resources, talent, and energy.  Our members are our most important assets.